When do I need to submit my nomination by?

All nominations must be received by midnight on 30 June 2020 to be considered for the Life After Stroke Awards 2020 event. Anything following that date will not be considered until the following year.

How can I make a nomination?

Nominations can predominantly be made online through our website, or if someone is unable to complete the form online, they can request a hard copy nomination form from the Life After Stroke Awards team.

If any nominators are unable to submit a nomination online or hard copy form due to any disabilities, then we will accept a video nomination or a nomination over the phone. The Life After Stroke Awards team are happy to support you with this.

When you are ready to make a nomination please:

  • Read all the awards criteria and decide which award best fits your nominee.
  • Complete your details and the details of the nominee.
  • Complete the nomination summary to tell us why you think the person or group deserves the award. Please include as much detail as possible by referring to the criteria.

What information do I need to complete a nomination?

You’ll need to provide:

  • Full name of the nominator and nominee.
  • Location of the nominator and nominee.
  • Contact details for the nominator and nominee.
  • Tell us why your nomination deserves to win.

What are the categories?

Award Categories are:

  • Fundraiser of the Year Award

For an individual fundraiser or fundraising group.

  • Courage Award

For a stroke survivor, 18 years old and over.

  • Children and Young People’s Courage Award

For a young stroke survivor, 17 years old and under.

  • Carers Award

A carer providing support for a stroke survivor.

  • Rebuilding Lives Award

For people who work or volunteer for the Stroke Association.

  • Community Impact Award

For an individual, group, business or project.

What happens after I submit a nomination?

Once a nomination has been submitted, the Life After Stroke Awards team will contact the nominee to confirm they are happy to be nominated. Consent is not required for the Rebuilding Lives category.

After nominations close on 30 June 2020, an internal shortlisting panel will meet to produce a shortlist in each category. The panel is made up of representatives from different teams across the Stroke Association.

How are winners selected?

An independent panel of external judges will select the winners from the shortlist in each category. Our judging panel will be announced on our website shortly.

The winner from each category will be informed in July 2020 and invited to the national event.

When does the national ceremony take place?

The national ceremony will be held in London in November 2020.

How to make your nomination stand out?

  • Include as much detail and as many practical examples as possible.
  • Your nomination doesn’t have to be perfectly written. Judges will be looking for a story of life after stroke and won't be judging you on your spelling or grammar. 
  • Please use the category criteria as a checklist to complete your nomination.
  • If you need assistance in making your nomination or you're having trouble with the online form, we can send you a form in the post, you can nominate over the phone or you can send us a video nomination. Please email lasa@stroke.org.uk or call us on 01527 903 927.

Have a read of some example winning nomination forms:

Courage Award - John Smejka

Carers Award - Edward Pearce

Can I nominate someone in more than one category?

You may nominate an individual for only one award category.

What happens if my nominee doesn’t win an award?

All nominees will receive a certificate of recognition.

Who can I contact if I have any questions?

If you have any queries please contact the Life After Stroke Awards team at lasa@stroke.org.uk or on 01527 903 927