Description

Durham Stroke Recovery Service provides practical advice, emotional support and high-quality information following a stroke. Whether you are a stroke survivor, carer or family member, we will work with you to identify and address your physical needs through a personalised plan, and support you to rebuild your life after stroke.

This service offers:

Coordinated support throughout your stroke journey.;Hospital and home visits from a dedicated coordinator.;Assessment to identify your support needs, including a six month post-stroke review.;Leaflets, factsheets and information about Life After Stroke Grants and benefits.;A personalised recovery plan to support your recovery from stroke.;Practical and emotional support for carers and families.;Advocacy support, where required.;Access to our network of support groups and longer-term peer support in your local community.

Who is this service for?

This service is for stroke survivors (including TIAs/mini-strokes), and families and carers of people affected by stroke, living in Durham.For more information, please contact:Danielle Soppitt: Danielle.Soppitt@stroke.org.uk or 01388 771524. Sue Orley: Susan.Orley@stroke.org.ukDeborah Churchman: Deborah.Churchman@stroke.org.ukAnita Jones: Anita.Jones@stroke.org.uk

If you are unable to find a suitable service in your area, contact our Stroke Helpline on 0303 3033 100, or email helpline@stroke.org.uk, and we may be able to put you in touch with alternative support.

You can also search for clubs and groups in your area.

Service type: 
Stroke Recovery Service

Location

Stroke Association
Longfield Road
South Church Enterprise Park
BISHOP AUCKLAND
County Durham
DL14 6XB

Contact

Laura Heatleydurhamteams@stroke.org.uk01917 316771