About a third of stroke survivors will experience communication difficulties after their stroke, which can make daily living extremely challenging. Our Communication Service Supporters support stroke survivors to develop new strategies to aid their communication. In doing so, they help people to build their confidence, achieve personal goals and promote independence.

As a Communication Service Supporter, you can provide focused support to facilitate the communication of stroke survivors in groups, or on a one-to-one basis in their homes, and enable them to access activities and services in their local community

Where a service is able to provide more long-term support, you may have the opportunity to support stroke survivors in a group setting that offers more social/informal activities. You'll also help to develop and deliver new communication activities or ways of supporting stroke survivors.

Please read the full role description before applying. We have opportunities available in the following areas:

Area Role specific information Contact
Alton This is a flexible opportunity that depends on the needs of the people that we support. However, there is an expectation of between one to two hours per week. We need five people all aged over 18.  Mandy Souter on 07515 596920 or mandy.souter@stroke.org.uk
Andover This is a flexible opportunity that depends on the needs of the people that we support. However, there is an expectation of between one to two hours per week. We need five people all aged over 18.  Mandy Souter on 07517 596920 or mandy.souter@stroke.org.uk
Birmingham This is a flexible opportunity that will be between Monday-Friday, 9am-5.30pm. We need 10 people for this role.

Adele Bratt on 0121 314 5090 or adele.bratt@stroke.org.uk

Durham Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. Andrea Steele on 01388 771 524 or andrea.steele@stroke.org.uk
East Berkshire Send an enquiry for more information, using the contact details to the right.  Hannah Ellis on 01344 306177 or hannah.ellis@stroke.org.uk 
Fareham Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. Graham Wake on 07717 275773 or graham.wake@stroke.org.uk
Gosport Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. Graham Wake on 07717 275773 or graham.wake@stroke.org.uk
Heanor We would need you every other Wednesday, 1pm – 3.30pm. We need five people all aged over 18. Emma Voyle on 07717 275725 or emma.voyle@stroke.org.uk
Hemel Hempstead The group meets every Thursday, 1.30pm – 3.00pm. Home visiting opportunities are more flexible and depend on the needs of the people we are supporting. We need six people all aged over 18. Kerry Foot on 01284 760006 or volunteeringcentral@stroke.org.uk
Hillingdon We would need you every other Monday, 11am –12.30pm or every Thursday, 11am – 1pm. Home visiting opportunities are more flexible and depend on the needs of the people we support. We need five people all aged over 18. Jacqui Guyett on 07515 596 959 or jacqui.guyett@stroke.org.uk
Ipswich The group meets every Monday, 10.30am –12.30pm. Home visiting is a flexible opportunity and depends on the needs of the people we support. We need five people all aged over 18. Kerry Foot on 01284 760006 or volunteeringecentral@stroke.org.uk
King's Lynn The group meets every Friday, 10am – 12.30pm. Home visiting is a flexible opportunity and depends on the needs of the people we support. We need five people all aged over 18. Kerry Foot on 01284 760006 or volunteeringcentral@stroke.org.uk
Long Eaton We would need you every Wednesday, 10.30am-11am. We need five people all aged over 18. Emma Voyle on 07717 275725 or emma.voyle@stroke.org.uk
Mendips  In most cases there will be an expectation of at least one to two hours per week. We need three people all aged over 18.  0771 727 5820 or via simon.laken@stroke.org.uk
Mickleover We would need you every other Tuesday, 1pm –3.30pm. We need five people all aged over 18. Emma Voyle on 07717 275725 or emma.voyle@stroke.org.uk
Nailsea We would need you every Wednesday, 10am –12.00pm. We need five people all aged over 18. Verity Aldous on 01275 870328 or verity.aldous@stroke.org.uk
West Oxfordshire Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need two people both aged over 18. Harriet Hammond on 01865 771624 or  harriet.hammond@stroke.org.uk
Winchester This is a flexible opportunity that depends on the needs of the people that we support. However, there is an expectation of between one to two hours per week. We need five people all aged over 18.  Mandy Souter on 07515 596920 or mandy.souter@stroke.org.uk
Isle of Wight (all areas) This a flexible opportunity that depends on the needs of the people we support. However, there is an expectation of between one to two hours per week. We need five people all aged over 18. Tina Cutting on 01983 612729 or tina.cutting@stroke.org.uk
South Derbyshire In most cases there will be an expectation of at least one hour per week Monday to Friday, 10am – 4.30pm. We need ten people all aged over 18. Emma Voyle on 07717 275725 or emma.voyle@stroke.org.uk
South Tees Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. Karen Jones on 01642 988147 or karen.jones@stroke.org.uk
South Tyneside Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. 0191 487 9988 or nestrokerecovery@stroke.org.uk
Sunderland Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need five people all aged over 18. 0191 487 9988 or nestrokerecovery@stroke.org.uk
Trehafod Details of when we need you will be given on enquiry. We need two people all aged over 18. Julia Godin on 07940 591864 or julia.godin@stroke.org.uk
Watford The group meets every Thursday, 10am – 12pm. Home visiting opportunities are more flexible and depend on the needs of the people we are supporting. We need six people all aged over 18. Kerry Foot on 01284 760006 or volunteeringcentral@stroke.org.uk
Weston Super Mare The group meets every Wednesday, 10am - 12pm. We need five people all aged over 18.  Verity Aldous on 01275 870328 or verity.aldous@stroke.org.uk

Share