We believe in the power of research evidence to prevent strokes, save lives and enable stroke survivors to make the best recovery possible.

As part of our five-year research strategy we made a commitment to working with others to achieve a clear vision about the future priorities for stroke research. We wanted to ensure that these priorities reflect expert opinion from practitioners and researchers as well as the views of stroke survivors and their families. Following a period of consultation with all of these groups we have now set our own priorities to address critical gaps in research evidence, including those that have proven hard to undertake in the past.

  • In 2015, we launched Priority Programmes in two areas, haemorrhagic stroke and the psychological consequences of stroke.
  • In 2016, in collaboration with Alzheimer's Society and the British Heart Foundation, we launched our Priority Programme in vascular dementia.
  • In 2017, we held a second call for applications into haemorrhagic stroke.
  • In 2018, we are launching a second call for applications into psychological consequences of stroke.

Our 2018 call for applications

In March 2018, we opened our second call for applications to our Priority Awards Programme into the psychological consequences of stroke.

In June 2018 the call was closed. Successful applications will be awarded in November 2018.

Follow the links below to find out how the Priority Programme was shaped:

Please see below for information about the call and how to apply.


Up to £410,000 over 3 to 5 years.


Call for applications now closed.

Awards to this year’s call will be awarded in November 2018. The rebuttal period will take place from mid to end of October.


  • Stroke Association Awards must be carried out at Universities, NHS Trusts, Statutory Social Care Organisations or other Research Institutions within Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
  • The Lead applicant must be a senior researcher holding a PhD (or equivalent) with a track record of managing grants, delivering research studies and a strong publication record. Peer reviewers will judge the expertise and suitability of the applicant and co-applicant team.
  • The salary of the Lead applicant has to be guaranteed for the duration of the proposed programme. Therefore the Lead applicant’s salary cannot be requested in the budget.
  • The salaries (whole or in part) of Senior Academic Researchers/Collaborators are not supported by these grants. This may be waived only in exceptional circumstances.
  • For this funding call, we would particularly favour the following for funding: i) a large collaborative study, ii) a study with a capacity building element, e.g. training of PhD students or postdoctoral scientists. Hence, tuition fees for PhD students can be claimed as a part of this grant.
  • Applications won't be accepted from those who have outstanding reports for other awards held with the Stroke Association.
  • Involvement of a Research Design Service (or equivalent) is recommended for all applications. Involvement of a Clinical Trials Unit is mandatory for clinical trial proposals.
  • No preclinical research or research involving animals.
  • Please read the guidance document for more detail about what financial support may and may not be requested from the Stroke Association.

Patient and Public Involvement (PPI)

We expect that all applicants will have involved people affected by stroke in the planning and development stages of their funding application, and will continue to do so should their application be successful. This involvement should be meaningful, and people affected by stroke should have a real opportunity to contribute to your research.

Find out more about how we can help you to involve people affected by stroke in your work.


Applications must be submitted to our online award management system.

To begin an application, please create an account. If you have previously interacted with us then your email address may already be in the system. If you find that this case, please click on ‘Login’ and ‘Forgot password?’. The system will then email you instructions to set yourself a password.

After you have logged in, please click on ‘Application Portal’ at the top of the page, then select which award you would like to start an application for from the 'Click here to start an application' search bar in the blue panel on this page.

Our online award management system should work on all major browsers, such as Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Edge, but we would not recommend using Internet Explorer below version 9.

If you have any issues with the system or have any feedback, please email us at research@stroke.org.uk or call 020 7566 1543.

Previous awards and documentation

Psychological Consequences of stroke

Lay summaries of the awards granted under this Priority Programme can be found below:

Haemorrhagic stroke

Follow the links below to find out how the Priority Programme was shaped:

Lay summaries of awards granted under this Priority Programme in 2015 and 2017 respectively can be found below:

Vascular Dementia

Follow the links below to find out how the Priority Programme was shaped:

Lay summaries of the awards granted under this Priority Programme in 2016 can be found below:

Joint Stroke Association & MRC award into haemorrhagic stroke and vascular dementia

A lay summary of our 2017 award granted jointly with the Medical Research Council (MRC) can be found below:

Our adjudication panels

Members of our Research Awards Pool are chosen based on the expertise required on adjudication panels. To avoid conflicts of interest any RAP member applying for funding in any of our funding rounds will take no part in the adjudication of that round. All RAP members sign up to our RAP Code of Practice. All applications are sent out for external peer review and all reviewers sign our Confidentiality and Conflicts of Interest Policy

Membership of the adjudication panel for our  Priority Programme Awards 2017 (Haemorrhagic Stroke):

  • Professor Jane Burridge (Chair), Professor of Restorative Neuroscience, University of Southampton
  • Dr Caroline Lovelock, Consultant Neurologist, Epsom and St Helier University Hospitals, St George’s University Hospital
  • Professor Charlotte Cordonnier, Professor of Neurology, Lille University, France
  • Dr Rebecca Fisher, Stroke Association Senior Lecturer, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Peter Jezzard, Professor of Neuroimaging, University of Oxford
  • Dr Terry Quinn, Joint Stroke Association/Chief Scientist Office Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Glasgow
  • Plus three members of our patient and public involvement group, Stroke Voices in Research

If you are a research expert and would like to register your interest in becoming a member of our Research Awards Pool please email us at research@stroke.org.uk

Success rates for Priority Programme Awards 2017

Details on the number of applications received and the number funded for this stream: