Support after stroke in Northern Ireland

We have 25 groups in Northern Ireland providing support, speech and language therapy, and advice to help stroke survivors make the best recovery possible. We also have five stroke recovery coordinators who support individuals and families affected by stroke.

Our Young Women After Stroke group provides support, information and services to young women aged 16-55 who have experienced stroke. We also provide Life After Stroke grants, information and signposting to other organisations who can help with matters such as access to benefits, emotional support and help for carers.

We operate a self-referral system into our services. If you'd like to refer yourself please download our referral form and email it to sharlene.graham@stroke.org.uk

Campaigning

There are more than 4,000 strokes in Northern Ireland every year and it's the leading cause of severe adult disability. There are 35,000 people living with the effects of stroke in Northern Ireland. We campaign to make sure everyone affected by stroke gets the care and support they need.

We provide Lessons for Life – a schools programme – to educate children about how to reduce their risk of stroke. We also provide health and wellbeing information, Know Your Blood Pressure checks and stroke prevention advice in workplaces, at events and with community groups. If you’d like to find out more please contact Catherine Lynn on 028 9050 8054 or catherine.lynn@stroke.org.uk

Fundraising events

Our fundraising team organise events and also support individual fundraisers and groups who wish to support our work. If you'd like to contact our fundraising team please contact Madeline Donnelly on 028 9050 8024 or madeline.donnelly@stroke.org.uk

Contact us

Stroke Association Northern Ireland's offices are located at:
Rushmere House
46 Cadogan Park
Belfast
BT9 6HH
 
Telephone: 028 9050 8020
Fax: 028 9066 0720
Twitter: @strokeassocni

Key staff

Barry Macaulay
Director for Northern Ireland
T: 028 9050 8028
E: barry.macaulay@stroke.org.uk

Laura Cousins
Business Support Manager
T: 028 9050 8022
E: laura.cousins@stroke.org.uk

Brenda Maguire
Head of Engagement and External Affairs
T: 028 9050 8051
E: brenda.maguire@stroke.org.uk

Catherine Lynn
Communication and Awareness Officer
T: 028 9050 8054
E: catherine.lynn@stroke.org.uk

Ursula Ferguson
Head of Life after Stroke Services
T: 028 9050 8025
E: Ursula.ferguson@stroke.org.uk 

Anne Graham
Stroke Recovery Services Manager
T: 028 9050 8050
E: anne.graham@stroke.org.uk

Catherine Lowry
Speech and Language Therapy Manager
T: 028 9050 8020
E: catherine.lowry@stroke.org.uk

Mark Dyer
Community Development and Partnerships Manager
T: 028 9050 8056
E: mark.dyer@stroke.org.uk 

Janice Kirkpatrick
Community Development and Partnerships Officer
T: 028 9060 8029
E: Janice.kirkpatrick@stroke.org.uk 

Paul Montgomery
Community and Events Fundraising Manager
T: 028 9050 8053
E: paul.montgomery@stroke.org.uk

Madeline Donnelly
Fundraiser
T: 028 9050 8024
E: madeline.donnelly@stroke.org.uk